Photo by Allan Mas

Metzora: Be the Change

Mikhal Weiner
5 min readApr 8, 2022

--

My wife and I joke that our kiddo has been an active little one since before he was anyone at all. At our first ultrasound, when he was the size of a blueberry, the technician kept moving the sensor around because our little bean was flipping out of the frame. He kicked nonstop in my uterus, sometimes waking my wife with the force of his fetal movements.

The day after he was born, he lifted his little head and tried to look at the room around him. At just over a month old, he flipped over for the first time. Over the past two and a half years, we’ve seen him do things he was absolutely not supposed to be able to do, over and over again. Climbing ladders, running, jumping, he was always ahead of the curve.

My wife and I could not be prouder of our precocious toddler, although we do struggle to keep up with him. Part of why we dress him in bright clothes is so that we can see him as he races around the playground. I’m in pretty good shape, but even I can’t always catch him without a bit of effort. When we hang with other families, the parents often comment that he’s really fast. They’re absolutely right.

--

--

Mikhal Weiner

Writer • Editor • Musician • Mama • Writing words for @bhg @healthmagazine @parentsmagazine @hey_alma @realsimple @thestartup_ @lilithmagazine