Yitro: Following the Rules

Mikhal Weiner
5 min readJan 24, 2022

This week’s Torah portion contains what is probably the most well-known set of rules out there: The ten commandments. Even if you’ve never read any biblical text, it’s pretty likely that you’ve at least heard of these ten rules. Each one is, according to traditional belief, literally set in stone. Together, they’re considered by many to be the basic blueprint for an ethical life.

Some of the rules are very clear cut. We can probably agree that “You shall not murder," and “You shall not steal," are good, solid rules we can get behind.

Others are a little crunchier, harder to digest. The one that’s always gotten me is the tenth, and final, commandment. “You shall not covet your neighbor’s house: you shall not covet your neighbor’s wife […] or anything that is your neighbor’s,” reads Exodus 20:14.

Generally speaking, I’ve never been much of a rule follower. I find rules confusing, and can usually find at least a handful of reasons rules don’t actually make any sense, so a commandment that applies to the thoughts in my head is a hard sell. How can I fulfill this central tenet of my faith? I can’t promise not to want something that belongs to someone else.

Thinking about this commandment opens up a whole can of worms in my mind. I’m assuming none of the words here are accidental or mistaken, as this is how I was raised to…

--

--

Mikhal Weiner

Writer • Editor • Musician • Mama • Writing words for @bhg @healthmagazine @parentsmagazine @hey_alma @realsimple @thestartup_ @lilithmagazine